• Home
  • News
  • Rotary Club of Taradale announces EIT Awards of Excellence

Rotary Club of Taradale announces EIT Awards of Excellence

April 29, 2021

(from left): Frank McGrath (Youth Scholarships Rotary Club Taradale), Emre Erturk (EIT Rotary Liaison), Scholarships Winners Britney Lee, Tasi Sua, Leah McElligott, and Claire Connor (President of Taradale Rotary Club); absent: Susanna Gray.

The Rotary Club of Taradale has selected four EIT degree students as this year’s EIT Award of Excellence winners:

  • Leah McElligott (Bachelor of Viticulture and Wine Science),
  • Britney Lee (Bachelor of Nursing),
  • Tasi Sua (Bachelor of Computing Systems), and
  • Susanna Gray (Bachelor of Creative Practice, Screen Production).

Due to the Covid pandemic, the scholarships were not awarded last year, so for this year the Rotary Club decided to select four students as opposed to two in the previous years. Each student is given $1,000 each towards their studies.

EIT Principal Lecturer Dr. Emre Erturk says, “The students were nominated not only based on their academic grades but also their leadership and community activities.”

The Rotary Club of Taradale established the annual EIT scholarship in 1989. This is just one of the club’s many efforts to support local education. Current Club President Claire Connor has been delighted about the continuing relationship with EIT and the quality of the students. “We are sure that these role models will encourage others, become a part of the Rotary club network, and get involved in our work with the community.” 

The Award’s Dinner and Presentation Ceremony will take place on Tuesday, 6 May at EIT’s Scholars Restaurant.