• Home
  • News
  • New Board of Directors for NZIST subsidiary EIT

New Board of Directors for NZIST subsidiary EIT

March 18, 2020

Hilton Collier (Ngāti Porou) – Chair

The New Zealand Institute of Skills and Technology Establishment Board (the Establishment Board) announced directors for the boards of subsidiary Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics (ITPs), effective from 1 April 2020.

The following people have agreed to serve as directors on the board of EIT from 1 April 2020:

  • Hilton Collier (Ngāti Porou) – Chair
  • Chrissie Hape (Ngāti Kahungunu) – Deputy Chair
  • Ross McKelvie
  • Geraldine Travers

“The appointment of this Board of Directors is a significant step forward in the journey towards a cohesive, sustainable vocational education system,” says Establishment Board Chair Barry Jordan.

“In making these appointments we have balanced the need to ensure continuity of operation with sound local and regional relationships. We are delighted with the diversity of thought within each board, alongside the complementary skills and experience that will drive positive outcomes for their respective communities.”

The Education (Vocational Education and Training Reform) Amendment Act requires that the initial board for each subsidiary ITP comprise at least four and no more than eight directors, of which at least half must reside within the region that the subsidiary primarily serves.

EIT Board Chair Hilton Collier says, “We have a strong presence in this region from Dannevirke all the way to East Cape, and I look forward to seeing EIT continue to flourish and maintain its connection and relevance to our region as a well-regarded institute.”

“I am passionate about meeting the needs of our current generation of learners and future generations to come. By providing training in work alongside training for work, and equipping our workforce for new industries, we can generate huge social and economic benefits for the Hawkes Bay and East Coast regions.”

The Establishment Board has also decided that one NZIST Council member will be a director on each subsidiary ITP board. Each board may also receive a ‘cross-Board appointee’ to further drive the shift from competition to operating as one regionally accessible network of provision. These names will be confirmed in April.

The IST Establishment Board based its approach to the appointment of directors on the Treasury framework used to appoint directors to the boards of Crown companies. More than 370 expressions of interest were received over the Christmas and New Year period.

All appointments to subsidiary boards are subject to ratification and approval by the NZIST Council on 1 April 2020. Members of this Council will be confirmed by the Minister of Education before the end of March.

EIT’s CEO Chris Collins highlights that EIT are looking forward to working with the new NZIST Council. “We will continue to strongly advocate for meaningful local and regional decision making and identity. Sense of community and employer ownership and connection remains key, whilst at the same time we need to operate within an integrated national system that effectively pools resources. I look forward to working with the new Board and towards ensuring EIT remains one of the high performing providers of education and training”.

“I do want to thank our current EIT Council members, in particular Council chair Geraldine Travers, for their outstanding and constructive work over the last years. They played a decisive role in establishing EIT as one of the best performing ITPs in the country.”